# 2014 Business meeting of the International Natural Zeolite Association June 10, 2014

#### **AGENDA**

- INZA Assets
- Nomination of new officers and councillors
- INZA Website
- Program development: Proposals for Zeolite '18
- Mumpton Award

#### **INZA Assets**

President Langella reminded all in attendance that INZA collects no dues and that membership is open to any person interested in any aspect of natural zeolites; this is an important aspect that enables this Association to survive. INZA's assets come from publication sales, private donations, and funds remaining from conference activities. President Langella described the details of INZA assets beginning from December 31, 2011. INZA assets are held by the Mineralogical Society of America, and thanks are due to the Executive Director, Alex Speer, for his cooperation. President Langella reminded all members that all INZA publications were transferred to The Clay Minerals Society (CMS), which assumed responsibility for selling these for INZA. INZA negotiated an agreement with the CMS to receive half of the sales proceeds in return for having CMS handle all sales and shipping. In addition, the CMS has facilities for accepting credit card orders and can also handle web orders. Income from the sales is transferred from the CMS to INZA periodically.

Mineralogical Society of International Natural Zeolite Association - Assets America at December 31, 2011

America		at December 31, 2011			
Date	Vendor	DESCRIPTION	Chck #		
				OUTFLOWS	INCOMES
7/0/2011	New Mexico	Zaalita 10/ Casarra Navi Marias IICA	00170575		¢0 221 00
., ., .	Tech	Zeolite '06 - Socorro, New Mexico USA	00179575		\$8.221,90
7/8/2011	David Bish				
		Received from A. Mumpton			\$4.175,38
		Wrote check for \$442.28 to A. Mumpton for shipping INZA books to CMS Wrote check for \$500 on to R. Sheppard for Mumpton		(\$442,28)	
		Award		(\$500,00)	
		Received check for \$412.50			\$412,50
		Received check from CMS, \$1368.00			\$1.368,00
		Received check from CMS 5/1/10			\$341,00
		Received check from CMS			\$271,00
		Faxed 1600 Euros to Zeolite 2010 organizers Faxed 1600 Euros to Zeolite 2010 organizers, foreign		(\$1.939,55)	
		transaction fee		(\$58,18)	
		Paid 60 Euros to Zeolite 2010 organizers		(\$75,93)	
		Paid 60 Euros to Zeolite 2010 organizers, \$2.27 foreign transaction fee Check to Carmine Colella for \$750.00 for the Mumpton		(\$2,27)	
		Award		(\$750,00)	
				subtotal	11.021,57

balance per General Ledger 11.021,57

## Nomination of new officers and councillors

President Langella informed the assembly about the proposed slate of new officers in agreement with Article IV - Section 1 of the By-laws: Election and Appointment of Officers and Council Members

# **Proposed Slate:**

President: Aleksandra Dakovic (Serbia)
Vice-President: Athanasios Godelitsas (Greece)

Secretary-treasurer: David L. Bish (USA)
Past President: Alessio Langella (Italy)

The President proposed a motion to approve the slate of new Officers. There was no discussion and the assembly approved the motion unanimously.

The slate of proposed new councillors was presented by Prof. Langella as follows. He emphasized that the Nominations Committee experienced some difficulty in finding members willing to serve on the Council. However, the INZA Council finally reached agreement on the proposed names as follows:

Marina Trgo (Croatia) first term
Diego Gatta (Italy) first term
Linda Campbell (UK) first term

A motion was made to approve the slate of the three new Councillors. There was no discussion and the assembly approved the motion unanimously.

#### **INZA** website

President Langella provided some information on the INZA website. The website was hosted by the Department of Earth & Environmental Science at New Mexico Tech, USA, until 2010. From 2011, the web site has been hosted by the Earth Science Department at "Federico II" University of Naples, Italy. The INZA website has been totally redesigned and implemented by Dr. Raffaele Viola from Naples University although most of the maintenance and revisions were carried out by Dr. Mariano Mercurio from Sannio University who also continuously updates the list server. With regards to the INZA list server, it is interesting to note that about 200 persons from all over the world subscribed to the INZA list during the past four years. President Langella commended Dr. Mercurio on his efforts to maintain the INZA web site and list server. He also encouraged all people who do not yet subscribe to the INZA list server to do that soon.

## **Program Development, 2018 meeting**

The President discussed that the INZA Committee on Program Development received two formal proposals to host the Zeolite 2018 meeting. These proposals arrived from Turkey by means of Fehime Cakicioglu-Ozkan from Izmir Institute of Technology (Izmir, Turkey) and from Poland by means of Wojciech Franus from Lublin University of Technology (Krakow, Poland). The President invited the representatives of the two Countries to give a 15-minute presentation on their proposals. After the presentations, the President thanked both for the very interesting detailed summaries of their plans for the next meeting, including information on costs, venue, field trips, and technical program. He then invited the members in attendance to express a preference by means of a written ballot for one of the two potential venues. The assembly thereby accepted the proposal for the 2018 meeting in Krakow (Poland). The Chair of the Zeolite 2018 meeting in Poland will be Prof. Wojciech Franus, from Lublin University (Poland). As Chair of 2018 meeting, Prof. Franus is an ex-officio councillor; the list of Officers and Councillors of INZA was thus complete and is reported here:

#### **OFFICERS**

President: Aleksandra Dakovic (Serbia)
Vice-President: Athanasios Godelitsas (Greece)

Secretary-treasurer: David Bish (USA)
Past President: Alessio Langella (Italy)

COUNCIL MEMBERS: Jan Elsen (Belgium, existing councillor)

Roberto Leyva-Ramos (Mexico, existing councillor)
Ognyan Petrov (Bulgaria, existing councillor)
Greg Stephen (Australia, existing councillor)
Daniel T. Evde (USA, existing councillor)

Marina Trgo (Croatia) first term
Diego Gatta (Italy) first term
Linda Campbell (UK) first term

Ex officio councilors: Wojciech Franus Chair of 2018 meeting

C. Colella (Italy) IZA representative

### **Mumpton Award**

In accordance with the INZA bylaws (Art. V, Section 6), Dr. Dakovic, Vice-President of INZA, was Chair of the Committee for the Frederick A. Mumpton Award for Outstanding Contributions to Natural Zeolites. The Frederick A. Mumpton Award is the highest award of the International Natural Zeolite Association. Criteria for this award include scientific eminence as represented primarily by scientific publication of outstanding original research in natural zeolite science and service to the natural zeolite scientific community. The award is open to candidates of all ages, nationalities, and careers.

This year there was just one recommendation for a researcher who, according to the Chair and the Council, meets all criteria necessary for the Award. The candidate is Prof. Maurizio de'Gennaro from "Federico II" University of Naples, Italy.

After a short presentation of the candidate to the assembly, Dr. Dakovic invited Prof. Bruno de Gennaro, Maurizio's son, to come on the stage to accept the Award. Prof. de Gennaro thanked the attendees, bringing apologies on behalf of his father who was unable to attend the meeting.

# **Input from Membership**

There was no input from the Membership

#### Adjourn

The President moved a motion to adjourn. There was no discussion and the assembly approved the motion unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Dr. Dave Bish June 10, 2014